DIOCESE OF PETERBOROUGH

TRIENNIAL ELECTIONS 2024

1. <u>ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF DIOCESAN SYNOD BY DEANERY SYNODS</u>

- (a) New elections to the Diocesan Synod will take place between **21 June and 12 July 2024**. The term of office will be for three years, as from 1 August 2024.
- (b) The Diocesan Synod has decided that the representation should be 50 clergy and 50 laity, elected by the respective houses of the Deanery Synods by Single Transferable Vote.
- (c) The number of representatives for each Deanery is set out on the attached schedule.
- (d) Qualification for election is as follows:
 - (i) HOUSE OF CLERGY any clerk in Holy Orders who is a member of the Deanery Synod shall be qualified to be so elected by the House of Clergy of a Deanery Synod. The electors shall be those whose names and addresses are recorded in the Register of clerical electors other than co-opted members.
 - (ii) HOUSE OF LAITY any person who is an actual communicant member of the Church of England of sixteen years or upwards and whose name is entered on the roll of any parish in the deanery or, in the case of Peterborough Deanery, whose name is entered on the community roll of the cathedral church, shall be qualified to be so elected by the House of Laity of a Deanery Synod. The electors shall be those whose names and addresses are recorded in the register of lay electors other than co-opted members.

The qualifying date for electors is 6am on 10 May 2024.

The closing date for nomination is 7 June 2024.

- (e) The Bishop has appointed the Diocesan Secretary as the Presiding Officer for each election. He will send to each member of the respective Houses of the Deanery Synod the election timetable and the appropriate forms inviting nominations, which will state the closing date for the receipt of such nominations.
- (f) Candidates wishing to seek election must be nominated and seconded by existing members of the appropriate House.

2. <u>DIOCESAN BOARDS AND COMMITTEES</u>

- (a) Following completion of the Diocesan Synod elections, new Boards and Committees of Synod are elected by postal ballot.
- (b) The proposed election period is 18 October to 12 November, with nominations closing on 8 October. Papers will be issued to the relevant electorates by 10 September.

NUMBER OF CANDIDATES TO BE ELECTED FOR EACH DEANERY

	Clergy	Laity
Brackley	3	4
Brixworth	4	4
Corby	3	3
Daventry	3	3
Higham	3	3
Kettering	5	7
Greater Northampton	9	6
Oundle	3	3
Peterborough	6	5
Rutland	4	5
Towcester	3	4
Wellingborough	6	5